Squatters’ rights vary by state, so learn how to evict a squatter in New Jersey.
Who Can Be A Squatter?
Anyone who occupies an unoccupied building or structure without permission can be considered a squatter. However, there are some exceptions. If a property owner has given up ownership of a property due to foreclosure, then the property owner cannot be held liable for any damages caused by squatters. In addition, if a property owner gives up ownership of a property because he or she no longer lives there, then the property owner will not be responsible for any damage done to the property.
What Are The Laws Regarding Squatting In New Jersey?
There are laws regarding squatting in New Jersey. These laws vary based on whether the property is residential or commercial. Residential properties must be vacated within 30 days after being declared uninhabitable. Commercial properties must be vacated within 90 days after being declared uninhabitable.
What Should You Do If You Find An Unoccupied Building?
If you find an unoccupied building, you should contact the local police department. They will determine if the building has been abandoned and if so, what steps need to be taken to remove the occupants.
What Happens When You’re Evicted From A Property?
If you are evicted from a property, you may face fines, court costs, and/or jail time. In some cases, squatters who refuse to leave may also be charged with trespassing.
What Are Some Of The Other Ways To Protect Yourself Against Squatters?
You should contact local law enforcement officials before entering an empty building. If you find yourself in a situation where you need to enter an abandoned building, make sure you have permission from the owner or landlord.